Time’s up!

The last twelve weeks were really long and really short at the same time. So many changes, so many new things. In strange times, it was good to have the structure of a course, meet new people, and discover new things. This iteration of the ONL course was certainly unique in that respect. All of a sudden going online became relevant for all.

I learned a lot of practical things, new tools, some more user-friendly than others, and some much better for collaborative work than others. This was one of my “Aha!” moments in this course. That the way a task is structured and the chosen tool can make such a big difference on how a group works together. And this is much more profound when you experience it first hand. Some of the concepts discussed in the course I had come across before, some others were completely new. Overall, one of the most important things this course offered me was the “framework to hang ideas on”. A key to a hidden section of the library, that I know I can now access whenever I want, having taken the orientation tour.

During the last ten weeks, I experienced once again the highs and lows of group work and the difference between cooperation and collaboration. However, this time I also got an insight on how to actually move from cooperation to collaboration. I got inspired to try more things in my teaching and research to increase collaboration, to not give up but rather try them over and over again, and to be patient with myself and others.

Like every journey, the experience is shaped by the people you meet along the way. And like every journey, this one has made me richer, more welcoming, more kind, more open-minded. And more curious.

Some of the concepts and approaches I may not use in their current form. But I think these ideas will shape how I work in a group myself and how I structure group work for my students. The importance of creating a safe environment, the process of learning when thrown in the middle of an ocean of information, the subtle role of the facilitator, the importance of reflecting on what you learned and on how you worked together in a group.

My very first reflection from this concluding week had to do with the motivation it takes to finish up something, especially when the next new and shiny thing appears. In this case this something has of course been the blog post. To my surprise, I found blogging a rather enjoyable thing to do (although a little stressful the first time around). I am glad that the time constraints were there to help me become less of a perfectionist and just click on that publish button..

I leave ONL with this meme and a see you soon!

2 thoughts on “Time’s up!

  1. Thank you Ioanna for taking this journey with us! I hope you hold tight to the curiosity this course has brought up and keep exploring these interesting themes in the next iteration. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,

    You lift that you conducted this course in special times. Suddenly the question of going online was not there! How did this affect the course and your learning do you think?

    You have discovered new tools that are very collaborative, and you have really experienced that the design of tasks and design of tools matters! This is really your big learning point you say. Therefore, I’d love to hear more about this! How do you design truly collaborative assignments? What are the big things to consider do you think? You say the course have given you a framework to hang ideas on: I think of the continuous collegial reflection, discussion and development; How do you do that? Now and in the future? With other colleagues? Do you need a common base? And if so, what would that be?

    You see that you have gained insights in differences between cooperation and collaboration: What is the gain? And how do you design learning then…?

    I love that you see that: “Like every journey, the experience is shaped by the people you meet along the way. And like every journey, this one has made me richer, more welcoming, more kind, more open-minded. And more curious.”. I really think this has been true during my entire journey also, throughout the course, but I haven’t seen it so clearly as you! -Nicely put!

    In the end you conclude that you have found blogging enjoyable. Why is that do you think? What is your gain? And will you use this form with your students?

    – Thanks for sharing your enthusiastic and insightful thoughts! It’s been very rewarding to follow you along! 😉

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started